Mariella Moon

Samsung’s ‘Repair Mode’ keeps your data hidden from technicians | Engadget

With stories of hackers selling personal information in bulk on forums becoming more common, it can be stressful to send your device for repair. Yes, you could wipe your phone, but then you have to go through the hassle of restoring it afterward. Now, Samsung has introduced a solution for that issue in the form of a new function called “Repair Mode.” 

According to a Korean announcement first spotted by SamMobile, you can activate the new mode under “Battery and Device Care” in Settings. Samsung didn’t explain the technology behind the feature, but when activated, it will hide your personal information, photos, messages and linked accounts. Only the device’s pre-installed apps will be visible to the technician. To regain access to your data, you simply have to disable Repair Mode and use pattern or fingerprint recognition to authenticate your identity. 

Seeing as Samsung has yet to announce the feature outside Korea, it’s most likely safe to say that it’s only available in the company’s home country at the moment. Further, it’s only available on the Galaxy S21 series phones for now. However, the company says it will roll out Repair Mode to other models — and hopefully to other regions — in the future. 

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

#Samsungs #Repair #Mode #data #hidden #technicians #Engadget

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.